If you are allergic to milk, you do not consume milk or any dairy product that contains milk. Alphabetically, butter, buttermilk, cheese, cottage cheese, cream, curds, ice cream, puddings, sour cream and yogurt are common foods that contain the milk protein. These foods should be avoided consistently, if you have a milk allergy. More challenging to detect is milk, when it is an ingredient in artificial butter flavoring, casein, chocolates, coffee cream, nougat or whey.
Fortunately, the federal Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires “milk” to be listed on every food label, when it is an ingredient.
If you have a milk allergy and are eating out, tell your server immediately. Avoiding the foods listed above may not be sufficient. Cross contamination from the food preparation area and from cooking utensils could occur.
To find others with this food allergy!